Yesterday I did a talk at our local Xcoders meetup (https://www.meetup.com/xcoders) in Redmond, covering the basics of the Swift programming language. It was a lot of fun to do, and a number of people said they got good stuff out of it, so I’m very happy about the reception.

As a demo project, I wrote a very simple app that presents a survey – in this case, asking three questions:

Do you think swift is a 1) Bird 2) Bank Transfer system 3) Musician named Taylor or 4) programming language

What's your rating of Swift (0- 7 scale)

What's your name?

And, having done the survey, it dumps the results to the console. Or, the app can fill in the survey randomly. Or, the app can fill the survey randomly 100 times and then does some ‘data processing’ on the results.

Even with such a simple app, I was able to present good examples of so many concepts in Swift, like

let vs. var tuples structs functions and parameter labels Arrays Optionals enums loops Ranges Extensions Closures filter / map / reduce nil coalescing

I put the keynote file for the presentation and the sample Xcode project up on github at github.com/olofhellm…

I want to thank everyone who came out to the talk, especially a few newcomers to Xcoders. I hope to see you next time!